My Thoughts On Oatmeal

Yesterday morning I thought I’d be adventurous and try oatmeal for the first time. Well the first time since I was in pre-school. And lets just say that back then, every bite was followedm by a gag. I have a an issue with certain textures with my food. And the oatmeal that was served at my pre-school for breakfast EVERYDAY (ugh, horrible) was soggy and mushy. And I’m pretty sure that’s what oatmeal is like? I honestly have no idea…but I thought I’d give it a second try. Now maybe it has something to do with the fact that you can make the oatmeal in 1 minute, or maybe it was because I used milk instead of water, but it wasn’t much better the second time around.

The oats were not from one of those bowls that you just add water to and put in the microwave. However, I still consider it instant oatmeal since I put it in the microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds. Pretty fast breakfast in my opinion. Now I had the option of either adding milk or water. Milk was meant to make the oatmeal thicker, and water to make it less thicker? I decided to go with milk, I sort of thought about it like powdered hot chocolate. It tastes richer when you use milk instead of water. I popped it into the microwave, and a minute or so later, I pulled it out and it seemed ok. I didn’t add as much milk as it suggested on the box, and maybe that is where I went wrong. It wasn’t liquid-ey, actually kind of dry. I only put in 1/2 a cup instead of 1 cup of milk. 1 cup seemed like a lot, but I guess the oats kind of suck it up while in the microwave? I added cinnamon to sweeten it up, so I wouldn’t have to use sugar- and break my healthy diet. It definitely added flavor, and I was able to eat it all. But there was just something about it. I think I needed something to add some crunch. Again, it all has to do with texture.

About an hour later my stomach wasn’t feeling so good. Not like, “I’m going to throw up” kind of feel, just kind of bleh. And since the oatmeal wasn’t my favorite anyway, I probably won’t be having it anytime soon. Maybe I just didn’t make it right? Well not that I made it wrong, but someone out there probably has a secret recipe that makes oatmeal delicious. All that matters is that I tried it though, right? I can now check that one off my list and move on to better and tastier things. Like scrambled eggs with spinach and green onions.

2 eggs, 2 egg whites, 1 green onion chopped, and a small handful of baby spinach = delicious.

20130719-092034.jpg