A Delicious Treat

I broke down yesterday and made some cookies. But how could I not? You only need 3 ingredients (all of which I happened to have in my kitchen- damn you pintrest!) and you don’t even have to bake. Just put them in the fridge for 30 minutes and you’re set!

Ingredients:

  • Ritz Crackers (or any cracker you want to use)
  • Organic Peanut Butter (seriously, check the label! If you don’t know what it is…don’t get it.) The only ingredients in a jar of peanut butter should be peanuts, and possibly salt (and very little of that).
  • 1 bag (2 cups) Chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate- they taste better in my opinion than semi-sweet. Although dark chocolate would probably be a little better for you)

Directions:

  • Spread about a teaspoon or so of peanut butter in between 2 crackers. Wala! You’ve made a peanut butter cracker.
  • Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave for about a minute and a half at about 70% power. Otherwise the chocolate might burn.
  • Dip the crackers into the chocolate, and coat on both sides.
  • Place on parchment paper and place in fridge for 30 minutes to set.

And you’re done! Easy as that. I made about 20 cookies. There was enough chocolate to make more, but I ran out of room in my fridge.

Now the old me (the 3 months ago me) probably would have eaten as many cookies as I could until my stomach wanted to explode. However, the new me knew that I would regret/hate myself if I did that. So my solution? Eat a bunch of watermelon in between. I mean a lot…I hate half of a watermelon by myself yesterday. It was so delicious, I can’t wait to get home after work today and cut up the other half. And because I was eating watermelon throughout the day, my stomach was pretty full. So every time I went to grab another cookie, I could only manage to eat 1 maybe 2. I think I only ate about 5 total yesterday. Which is honestly not that bad considering they aren’t very big and I could probably eat all of them in a day if I let myself.

Also, I had more than just watermelon yesterday, but honestly it was a major part of my diet. I cut it into pieces after my yoga class yesterday morning, so it was just so readily available all day. A quick grab and go snack, and I’m ALL about simple and fast meals. (If you can even call watermelon a meal?) So yeah, it might not have been my most nutritious intake day, but it was definitely a yummy in my tummy day- and you can’t beat that!

20130721-105055.jpg

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies

3 thoughts on “A Delicious Treat

Leave a comment